login Create Account

Inaugural Player of the Year Award Winners Announced

The WGAP season has wrapped up and we have 5 inaugural Player of the Year Award Winners.  These winners will be honored at the Annual Meeting on December 7 at Old York Road.  

Class A – Samantha Perrotta, Old York CC at Chesterfield
Samantha used her consistent play to earn points at almost every event she competed in.  Highlights included winning the Nonna Barlow Cup, Wilmington Invitational, Nancy Wilbur Cup, Gold Key Invitational, and the Mary Thayer Farnum Cup.  She was a semi-finalist in the Women’s Match Play Championship.  Samantha’s margin of victory was 300 points over the Women’s Match Play Champion Cara Basso, of Whitford.

Class B – Jane Warwick, Yardley Country Club
This was our closest race.  Jane battled back after a disappointing round at the 1st Stroke Play to win the 2nd Stroke Play and the Overall Stroke Play Champion honors.  This was enough to move her in front of the leader to that point, Yvonne Tester (Riverton).  Jane won by 37.5 points.

Class C – Deb Gera, Penn Oaks Golf Club
Deb dominated the Stroke Play tournaments this year, tying for low gross in the First Stroke Play and winning the Second Stroke Play outright.  She also took home the Overall Stroke Play Championship.  Deb won Player of the Year honors by 65 points over runner-up Marcy Chojnacki (Little Mill).

Class D – Amanda Bielski, RiverCrest Golf Club and Preserve
Amanda was in a close battle all year with eventual runner-up Susan Harbaugh, Indian Valley.  Amanda’s win at the First Stroke Play and tie at the Second Stroke Play, along with winning the Overall Stroke Play Championship, lifted her to victory.  She closed the year 60 points ahead of Susan.